(Personal Narrative) Finding You …

At any moment…at any time you can decide to make a change in your life. You can follow a new road, sing a new song, and ad lib some new dance steps. Only you can know what you really want from your existence and only you know if you’re on the right road. You are the only one that can make your dreams happen. No one else can do it for you and no one else has the power to discourage you. Discouragement comes from fear and jealousy.

Think about it; with so many people right now sitting in their homes, or driving down the street, or sitting in bars trying to figure out who THEY are… how the Hell can they possibly be able to help you see who you are?

Many people are intimidated by Change as if it’s an impending threat. Change; the word is whispered and frowned upon. But, It’s not a threat nor an evil entity. It’s a necessary part of life.

Change can arrive out of no where and surprise you or it can be something you plan and long for. But either way we mustn’t fear it. We should open our eyes … yes, both of them…and hold our arms out wide and embrace it.

I looked at myself in the mirror a few years ago and I didn’t like the early 30s woman that was staring back at me with wary eyes and a tired fake smile… even my hair looked sad and depressed. I tried to convince myself I just hadn’t had enough sleep the night before…but that wasn’t it. I was just unhappy.

And I was suddenly filled with over whelming sense of determination to adjust or completely change anything and everything I’d have to change in order to bring that light back that used to be in my eyes.

I know that not all dreams may come true and it won’t be because I didn’t try hard enough or long enough.

Sometimes dreams aren’t meant to come true, sometimes it’s the Journey itself that is the lesson we’re supposed to focus on.

Many people miss that and feel discouraged or like failures if the goal isn’t reached but they need to look back on the things that happened while on that road and I guarantee they would see lessons learned, things they’d experienced and people they’d encountered and realize that they had been changed in some way.

There will be days when you’ll wake up and things just aren’t the way you pictured they should be. People will disappoint us and plans will fall through. What you must remember is to keep the focus on you.

Trust your own judgments and keep believing in yourself and all that you are capable of. Constantly remain focused on the right path for you.

image

~ Keep Writing ~

Leave a Reply

